

An Intra-College slogan writing Competition was organized by NSS, RED- RIBBON CLUB and NCC on the theme of Azadi Ka Amrut Mahaotsav in collaboration with District Information Office, Kathua. The competition began with welcome address by Dr. Mohan Singh Pathania, esteemed Principal, Govt. Degree College, Kathua. He congratulated and appreciated the efforts of NSS volunteers, NCC Cadets and volunteers of Red-Ribbon Club for organizing such activity in the college. He added that at present youth must have awareness of Azadi which we have got after a long struggle by losing many lives of our freedom heroes and their supreme sacrifice ever be marked in our hearts. He motivated the students and inspired them to organize such activities as seminars, debate, conferences, slogan writings and poster- making competitions to commemorate to our freedom fighters and their commendable contributions towards our nation. Ms. Shruti, District Information officer also threw light on the occasion and congratulated the volunteers for their participation in the competition. On this occasion Dr. Arun Dev Singh , program officer , NSS unit encouraged and appreciated the students for their efforts who presented their ideas and thoughts by presenting slogans on Azadi ka Amrut Mahaotsav and threw light on the objectives of the program and its history. He conveyed the volunteers and cadets that their main motto should serve the country. Dr. Vaishno Devi, ANO NCC also addressed the cadets and volunteers by saying that they must work for the sake of the country and remember the purpose of the freedom fighters who have presented us a beautiful country and she further said that they should always have future prospective to make the future of the country bright. Prof. Ravinder Kaur, Prof. Pankaj Nandan and Dr. Babita Jamwal acted as jury member. 26 volunteers and NCC cadets participated in the competition. Four winners were selected by the jury members: Kamakshi Andotra (First), Neha Bharti (second), Samriti (third) and Janvi Mahajan (consolation). The staff were present on this occasion Dr. Naresh, Prof, Som Raj, Prof Vijay, Prof. Barun, Prof. Pallavi, Prof. Naresh and Dr. Surekha.